My Favorite [French] Things

Published Wednesday, 4 April 2012 by Sydney Sunny

I have been living in France for 7 months. It has been a long time for me, for others I’m just a baby. However, I have explored the life here in France and have found somethings I really enjoy! These are things that are easy to find in France and may be over looked, but hard to find where I live in the USA.

Food:

Speculoos:

Speculoos a Tartiner by Lotus

Speculoos by Lotus

I fell love with Speculoos cookies. It is the (almost) perfect cookie! It has warm spices- like cinnamon, which is my favorite. They are just wonderful cookies, but to make it worst the brand Lotus made a spread. It is heaven. And, the surprising element about the Speculoos is – dah dah- IT IS VEGAN. Yes, Speculoos is the easy to find junk food for vegans in France.

Salade de Carottes Râpées:

salade de carottes râpées (french carrot salad)

On one of my first adventures for food, I was looking for good, safe prepared food because I didn’t have anyway to cook. Suddenly bright orange “Salade de carottes râpées” stood out. I studied it and put it in my bag. Once I had it, I was hooked. I can eat a large box for a meal, all the time. The salad is raw carrots and a dressing of oil and mustard. My friends know I love carrots and mustard together. So, right, this is perfection – vegan, raw. I think, I will miss this the most when I leave.

Brie:

Brie - Fromage

I have bought cheese after cheese in France. I have had Camembert, Blue, Green, Munster and you name it. But, nothing is better to me then Brie. I do not think it is very popular with the French. It is just a common cheese. It is my favorite cheese that cannot ever be vegan. I’m in France- forgive me!

Confiture de châtaignes à la vanille:

Confiture de châtaignes à la vanille

In the jam section I found the normal things, strawberry, blackberry, red berry, blueberry, orange, chestnut…? WHAT?! Chestnuts, the wonderful warm “nuts” they roast on the street, can be a jam? I decide to take the advice of Beauty and the Beast’s famous song and tried the gray stuff. And, it was delicious.

Entertainment:

B-D: Elinor Jones:

Elinor Jones, Tome 1 : Le Bal d'hiver

In France they have a ton of comics or in French “Bande-Dessinée”! Tintin is a famous example. I picked up a few at the library. It was interesting to large hard back books with pictures. I felt like a little kid, but some of these comic were NOT for kids. The one that sticks out as my favorite is Elinor Jones. I loved the story, fashion, and colors. I also found out that I follow the artist online! The trilogy is unfinished.

Harry Potter:

Harry Potter Tome 1

So, Harry Potter is not, très pas, French. However, I have collected 1-6 of 7 on my shelf, and I am currently reading the 3rd! I love to read the comforting stories that I grew up on, and learn a bit of French! It is really entertaining, and educational.

Movies:

The Illusionist

French movies are a hit or miss for me. Most of the time, it is a miss. I just cannot follow the plot well or the ending is dull. I have found French movies that I do love before I came to France: Les Triplettes de BellevilleLes Choristes, and Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain. They were all popular for the French lovers in my French classes. During my stay I have tried a few. I do not remember the titles of the misses, but only the hits. Hands down the L’illusionniste wins as the best! It is a moving piece of artwork with a quiet story.
Other movies I liked:  Le Chat du Rabbin and Bienvenue chez les Ch’tis

This is just a small list. My larger and ever growing list is on Pinterest.

Hope you had fun!

8 comments on “My Favorite [French] Things

  • Leave a Reply

