Fancy Princesses at the Palace of Versailles

Published Tuesday, 27 March 2012 by Sydney Sunny

As I mentioned in my last post about the Tea Party, I made some friends, and we planed an adventure! Our adventure planned over sweets and tea caught us all in the moment of high excitement. We planned to go to Versailles. This was not to be a “normal” plain old trip to see a palace. No! Instead, we wanted to be the princesses of this palace. Thus, our plan to go to Versailles in frills and lace was set.

Versailles' glory

I left Amiens very early to get to Paris at 8. The trains have been recently arriving 10 – 20 minutes late, and I wanted to be sure to be on time. I was a bit nervous to go to Versailles alone, but it was really easy. My tips for going to Versailles is to buy you tickets at the Metro you plan to leave and return. I bought my tickets at Gare de Nord. This one ticket was my Metro ticket to St. Michel, and the RER line C to Versailles. I believe most tourist believe the RER tickets are bought at the RER stations, but this it false. Because I bought my ticket at Gare de Nord and used the metro, I think I saved a bit of money then if I took the Metro and bought my RER ticket.
I might try to do a post on the public transportation system in Paris. It is really good. But for now, I will just leave a link : here : for the Paris public transportation system. It helps for making plans. For example, it can aswer the question, “How long can I stay with my friends and still make my train?”.

I met Marine in the RER platform. She had been on vacation for a week, and she had been busy sewing and crafting! She made her bag (we found one made of the same material on sale at Versailles!), customized a cut-sew with lace, and made lace cuffs. I asked her if she could make lace cuffs for me, and she did! She did an excellent job! They are made of a embroidered flower ribbon, edged ironically with pick Rococo ruffles, bottomed with large white and pink Swiss dot lace, and finally topped of with pink bows. I love them very much! The things she gives me are so special to me!

Lolitas getting on the RER

Later Stephanie and Yumi met us on the platform, and we took the train to Versailles! Versailles is outside of Paris, but Paris has swallowed the surrounding countryside that once separated the palace. It is hard to imagine a world of royals living in Versailles Palace. Women in high wigs and outlandish wide dresses, but I guess, they never imagined tourist to come to their bedroom by the thousands- daily!

Princesses in front of Versailles.

Anyways, we had a great time. I heard later that some lolitas in the past were refused to be let into the palace. However, we had no problems. We did not have on wigs or crazy high shoes, but we where in lolita and did stand out. A lot of people wanted their picture with us because we looked like we belonged! Inside the palace is a world of rich velvet, gold, crystals, paintings, and windows. It is a true wonderland. I cannot describe the wonderful  rooms very well. Also, my friends seemed to glow -as if we had the blood of Marie Antoinette in our blood! I’ll let the photos speak for themselves.
My personal favorites are the Hall of Mirrors and Queen Marie Antoinette’s Bedroom.

Stephanie's tights and checkered floor.

Stephanie's Hall: Her Dress (BtSSB) matched perfectly. Also I am very proud of this picture.

The Chapel.

Marine's wonderful smile by the light of the huge golden windows.

Marine's room: It is one of the many red and gold rooms. This only had white, so I thought it matched her white ribbons.

The Hall of Mirrors' gold statues holding crystals and candles standing by the windows.

Me in the Hall of Mirrors!

My room: The Queen's Bedroom's floral designs is very dreamy and romantic. I am in love with it. I had on a pink jumperskirt and with hint of flowers.

Yumi's Statue: Yumi with her matching chocolate man.

After the wonderful trip inside the beast’s belly, the gardens awaited us. The gardens around the Palace is huge. I never knew just how huge the garden were. The famous fountains are just around back but beyond there is a maze of hedges hiding more fountains split by a cross shaped narrow lake.

A small hidden fountain we found.

We decided to  walk to Marie Antoinette’s secret getaway- as if we were asked to tea. We visited her stunning Petit Trianon and Le Ferm. I found the Petit Trianon as a mini fashionable Versailles. It seemed more feminine then Versailles. And the Farm was not as pretty as I hoped, because it was a gray day in February.

A room for the ladies to sit.

Yumi is with the god of love.

A gray passage way at the farm.

Yumi and Marine resting at the Farm.

At the end of the visit we walked back to the RER with our sore feet with dreams of high hair in our heads. I hope to return for a better viewing of the gardens.

My full outfit: Blouse, JSK, Underskirt, Bunny Bag, Hair clip, Umbrella(Marine's)- BtSSB // Flora tights, Fawn collar- H&M // Pink socks- Bodyline // Shoes- Secret Shop // Bow(Me), Wristcuffs(Marine)- Handmade

I have many more adventures to post! So thank you for reading and looking at the wall of pictures!

Marine’s post of our day is here.

10 comments on “Fancy Princesses at the Palace of Versailles

  • Leave a Reply

