A Dream Come True – Baby, the Stars Shine Bright, Paris’s 5th Anniversary Tea Party

Published Saturday, 3 March 2012 by Sydney Sunny

Once Baby Paris posted on their blog about the annual Anniversary Tea Party, the French lolita world exploded. Everyone was on edge the night of submitting names into the drawing. Then the wait for the winning emails slowing ended. And, my inbox lacked the winning email from Baby. I knew it was a chance, but I was still sad. It was my dream to go to a brand tea party one day. I often sit in front of my computer soaking up the wonderful pictures and video of Baby’s or Angelic Pretty’s tea parties from San Francisco, Paris, and Tokyo. My computer is usually located in the hills of Tennessee, far away from big city meet ups, tea parties, and brand stores. Thus, my chance to go to a special lolita event slipped by in the night.

About a week later, while Marine and I made crepes, Megu, who works at Baby, messaged me on Facebook. She said I forgot to pick up my ticket. I was shocked. Apparently, my email inbox never recieved the winning email from Baby! Megu was a doll, and she kept my ticket safe till I could pick it up. Marine and I both were so excited that one of the crepes burned. Marine and I, both, were going to Baby, the Stars Shine Bright 5th Anniversary Tea Party!

I had about two weeks to plan my special outfit. I wanted to make sure I looked nice and went the extra mile for such a special occasion. I planed many things, but some things did not happen.  Because I a studying abroad, all my special makeup, nail polish, and hair supplies are long away in the USA. So I did the best I could. I put on my makeup the best I knew how, I glued on my fake nails, I placed many bows (4-5) on my head, and I left early Sunday the 19th of February to catch the train into Paris.

Credit to FancyMelody

Once I arrived in Paris, I went straight away to Baby to buy my ticket! Clair and Megu greeted me in the store. Megu told me to sit down, and she completed my look with simple curls. Here is my outfit for the tea party:

SNOW DROP DRESS
TULIP KARAMI SKIRT
CHESS CRYSTAL RIBBON COMB
FLORA TIGHTS  *H&M
YELLOW TEA PARTY SHOES  *Secret Shop
PARIS’S MACARON SOCKS
BABY PINK BOW
PINK BACK PIN TUCKED BLOUSE
Not on me in the Picture:
TEDDY RIBBON COAT
DAYDREAMER PURSE  * JUICY COUTURE
USAKUMYA POCHETTE BAG
**All Baby, the Stars Shine Bright unless stated otherwise. **
My Theme was simple: Spring Sun. Thus, I donned my favorite color combination, yellow and pink!
You can check out my lookbook post.

Credit to Laura (in red): Lolitas in front of Baby, the Stars Shine Bright before the Tea Party.

Other girls arrived dressed from head to toe in Baby, the Stars Shine Bright or Alice and the Pirates ( the dress code). And, I was one of them! I never dreamed to be in the presences of such wonderful people in dreamy dresses, skirts, bows, and petticoats. I met Marine in the the store, and she bought a lovely umbrella. When we got to the street, people saw a group of girls dressed up in their finest. They would stop, admire, and ask questions. I was however wrapped in our joy, excitement, and vanity to care about anyone else.

In a large room beside the tea room.

The Tea Party was held at a big, fancy hotel called “Le Grand Hotel de Paris” which is beside the Opera. The outside looks like the normal central Paris buildings, but hidden inside are chandlers, glided carved decorations, and velvet curtains. I thought it looked very rich and luxurious!

Credit to Marine: Megu greeting the guests. Look how cute she is with her brown and pink outfit!

The events that were unfolded were as a dream.
First, I showed Clair my ticket to confirm my presence at the tea. As I walked to the door with Marine, Megu greeted us with her sweet smile and gave us the traditional “goodie” for the party. This “goodie” was a long key necklace. The key pendent is gorgious with a “B” for “Baby” and wings.
Next, the sweets and teas were served. I got a raspberry tart and had rooibos red tea.  All the while, I conversed the best I could with others, and met some great lolitas.

Credit to Megu: The sweets!

A long period of talking, greetings, and pictures occurred. I met many sweet French lolitas, one from Belgium, another from Switzerland, and a sweet girl from Germany. Marine and I became close to two other lolitas across from us. There is Yumi from Japan, and Stephanie from Canada! We decide to plan another adventure together! (next post)

Credit to Emilie: Emilie (from Swizerland) and I share our favorite color combeation: Yellow and Pink! She has on the Snow Dot JSK, and I, the dress.

My favorite outfits:

FancyMelody and me! I was so excited to met her! I have followed her blog for a long time! She writes about here outfit: here. I hope, I can one day be as detailed!

Credit to Kamihana Shi: Kamihana Shi's outfit was wonderful! Her hair and makeup was marvelous! Here is her detailed post on her hair: here! I think she was one of my favorites!

Credit to Emmachan: Severine was also one of my favorites. She was a pirate mermaid! She had on AatP's mermaid print and a boat with perals in her hair!

Later, the prices were drawn! Ten prizes were given, however I did not win any of the great prizes.
Then, the big Birthday cake was rolled out into the room. All lolitas grabed their cameras to capture the fabulous cake on fire! I got a piece of cake and had to get another. The cake was silk, not a sponge, silk. I also tried the mille-feuille because I am in France – Paris – Tea Party – BABY.

Credit to Megu: The cake!

Lastly, the best outfit awards were given out for Baby, the Stars Shine Bright and Alice and the Pirates. The awards were a whole outfit! My new friend, Stephanie, won the Baby outfit award!

Credit to Megu: Baby's Winner!

Soon, I found myself barely making the 6 train back to Amiens as if it was all a dream. Was it a dream? No, the memories and my friends will reassure my dream did come true. I dreamed so much to go to such a event, and now I have. The best thing from going was not the cake, not the prizes, not the tea, not the hotel, not my outfit, but the self worth from feeling beautiful and the friends I made.
And also, I cannot help buy enjoy the feeling of beauty. To be surrounded by others who have the same love of style as you is explainable. Everyone had different styles, different hair, some very fancy over the top, some natural, some bright, some dark – and everyone beautiful. We understood each other’s styles!
It was a dream come true…. and more dreams to come…

I returned home on the train with my new necklace and the first episode of Downton Abbey (FREE on iTunes).

Check out:

FancyMelody’s blog post,Still Doll’s post, and Kamihana’s post about the Tea Party! (there are more pictures)

7 comments on “A Dream Come True – Baby, the Stars Shine Bright, Paris’s 5th Anniversary Tea Party

  • Thank you for your kind comment ! ❤
    I am pretty happy I'he met you , hope we could meet again ( and not only in lolita TP or meeting ^^)
    Pff , I loved so much that place 😄 really want y engagement over there 😄 maybe a engagement-tea instead of a party :p

  • “Marine and I both were so excited that one of the crepes burned” AH AH J’étais très contente que tu puisses venir ! On s’est bien amusées! “Poor Cook” :3
    “We decide to plan another adventure together!”
    J’aime les aventures !!!!!

  • Leave a Reply

