Soldes and Friends in Paris

Published Thursday, 2 February 2012 by Sydney Sunny

The first weekend of the “soldes”, January 14, I went to Paris! I woke up early and took the 6:50am train.
After buying the young ticket for unlimited Metro use (the way to go if you need to use the metro a lot) and using the long way around to get to my destination because the metro line was closed, I walked out into the cold air. Oh, it was cold that day.  I waited for Marine. We wearing Lolita, so finding each other was not too difficult. She was wearing her new skirt from Baby, the Stars Shine Bright, and I, my new dress from Baby (from online 2nd hand).

Paris in the morning sunrise.

We went to the Musee de l’Orangerie. The Orangerie houses the magnificent art work I have seen yet. I’ve see Mona Lisa’s smile, I am in love with David, I met the Girl with the Unicorn, but here I became lost in a world- a world of Monet. In two large white, oval rooms Monet’s Les Nympeas (the water lilies) . Marine and were lost in the strokes of color. We both were amazed and awed. The scale of the art blow my mind. In the paintings I could see and hear the water moving in the art work. I saw his small lake in the morning, daytime, sunset, and night. I could have stayed there forever.
I highly recommend going to the Musee de l’Orangerie. I believe it is a commonly over looked because of its size.  It is beside the Louvre at the edge of the gardens.

Me and Marine in front of the Musee de l'Orangerie. Credit to Marine

Then, we went “soldes” shopping! We met up with Marine (they have the same name- cute). We took the metro straight to Baby, the Stars Shine Bright Paris. We tried on skirts, cutsews, dresses, bows, clips, and jackets. The sales were great at Baby! I was given money for Christmas  in Euros from my family. I decided that I will never convert the money to US dollars and I have plenty of money from my scholarship given each month. So, I spent. Oh! I spent!

Here I am shopping at Baby, the Stars Shine Bright Paris. Wearing- BABY! Credit to Marine

Here is what I got:

Tulip Karami skirt- white-98 Euros // Night Fairy Fantasia- hair clip- Blue- 28 Euros // Teddy Ribbon Coat- Black- 238 Euros = I bought all this for the original price for the coat

I’ve had my eye on the Tulip Karami skirt. It is so lovely. The lace, fabric, and ribbons create a tremendous amount of detail. The skirt is great on its own or as a underskirt (which I need, my bloomers show in the winter) . I was able to get the skirt at final sales price because I payed in cash. Thank you Baby!
I’ve also had my I on the Night Fairy Fantasia hair clip. I was amazed that the series was not very popular in the Lolita community. I was excited when I first saw it for reserve. It is my favorite print of 2011!  However, the skirt is short. Even so, it is my dream skirt, and I will patiently wait for it like a spider. Till then, I wear this fairy in my hair many days of the week!
This coat, THIS COAT! I wanted a brand coat. I knew brand coats would be lined and made well for years, and year of use. I thought of buying one online but the price for shipping for a well made coat ( heavy) is horrible! So, I bought one on sale. I only buy things from Baby, the Stars Shine Bright Paris’s store if I am 100% happy with it. The coat fits like a glove. It is the warmest thing, too! I wear less layers now to go outside, and now is it below freezing! I am very happy!

Marine told me this French phrase -‎"chargée comme une mule"- because Marine and I bought so much! Credit to Marine

Anyway, after shopping we were very hungry! We went back on the Metro to a 50’s Diner! I don’t know where it is but it is close to Hotel de Ville and Princess Crepe area. I got left at a metro stop, and I was following my friends. They had quite a few vegetarian things (NOT VEGAN)  on the menu. I had a chose between a salad, bagel, and burger!  I got a burger. I am not much of a burger girl but, why not? It was a popular place. We had to wait in a line. We sat, surrounded by our shopping bags and purses, and eat our warm meals. We chatted, and I drew on pink napkins the state Tennessee.

Me in the Diner. It was really cute there!

After we were full and happy, we went to take Puricula! There is a Puricula booth in the tiny store called Marugen (on the Rue des Petits Champs). If you don’t know what Puricula is, well you need to get a life. It is a photobooth that takes your picture! Afterwards you can edit it with different things. Each machine is different.  This machine was Tomagotchi! I love it! Then it is printed super fast. The result is tiny super “kawaii” photos that can be used as stickers!  It cost 5 Euros at Marugen (100yens – if only we were in Japan!).

Marine's Puricula

My Puricula

 

Afterwards, we went to another Museum.  It was very beautiful and very Lolita. The house was a fully furnished period house from the Romantic Period. It is free for all because it is a City of Paris Museum. It is called the Musee de la Vie Romantique. It would be a lovely place to sit and rest on a hot day. I love old restored houses. Being in lolita dresses, makes me feel like I am part of it.

It was an amazing day. I was so tired! I missed the train and had to take a later train. I was so very tired! Yet, it was worth everything! When I arrived, everyone getting off the train had bags and bags from shops. I felt very French because I had bags too!

Thank you for reading, Princesses! And a special thanks to my Marines, they make me feel so a home in France. They have taken me under their wings! Wish Marine luck as so goes to Spain, too!

 

2 comments on “Soldes and Friends in Paris

  • “They have taken me under their wings” Yees 🙂
    I understood everything (almost :3)
    I didn’t know that you had missed your train 😦 !
    It was a really good week end! This week will be good too (but really cold! so you can wear your beautiful coat baby !)
    Bisou

  • Leave a Reply

