Finding Gold not Glitter

Published Sunday, 8 January 2012 by Sydney Sunny

One day before Christmas after my friends had left, I was alone. I wondered between the masses of people in the center of the city. Suddenly, among the large crowd of people, among the festive lights, and among the shops, I felt alone. Before I studied abroad, alone had a different feeling. I was alone. It is painful to be somewhere and not be able to express to anyone correctly your feelings with your native tongue. Was it my fault? My mind did the only thing it could do, it blamed its self.
Right as I began to talk down to myself, I looked up.

A rainbow above Amiens with the the beautiful clock and Notre Dame d'Amiens

Behold a rainbow, the promise of God to not forsake men.
Stopping my negative thinking, I moved on to my blessings to be in France. The luster of “living” in France left many months ago. France is amazing but your troubles follow. I know completely my faults and strengths because I came to France -alone. So France is gold, but it doesn’t “glitter” perfect anymore.
And I wonder, I wonder…

All that is gold does not glitter; not all those that wander are lost. – Tolkien

Leave a Reply

