When not in Paris…

Published Thursday, 15 December 2011 by Sydney Sunny

When not in Paris, what do I do?

Oh, how I love Paris, but it is always there waiting for me. As the end of the semester crept up, I slacked. I have not set foot in Paris in December. Horrible. Ghastly.
However, what do I do? I do one of the most important things. I love Paris, but seeing my friends is more special, then the cold city of Paris.

Amiens in Christmas lights - Top: Perfum d'Hiver -Middle: Hotel de Ville d'Amiens -Bottom: Cathedral in the background with lights

On the 3rd of December, it was not only International Lolita Day, but Pauline’s birthday. Pauline is a native of Amiens who I meet through Vasilisa.  Pauline has studied in the US and Russia. She speaks perfect English and clear French. I am thankful for her patience when I speak French.

Top: Vasilisa and Pauline with Hot Cider Bottom: My Roasted Chestnuts

 

We walked around the center of town. The center of Amiens has a lot of common European chain stores, same as Paris. There is H&M, Cache-Cache, Jennifer, and more! There was a large crowd of Christmas shoppers! It was overwhelming! But I was more interested in the new decorations for “Parfums d’Hiver”! There were Christmas light and red Christmas huts with gifts or food. We each bought something warm to fight the approaching cold night air. I bought roasted chestnuts (rare to find in the US), and Pauline and Vaslisa bought hot apple cider- which had a little something, something in it. (I sipped it but I guess since I’m from Tennessee with Scot- Irish background, I prefer a little stronger.)

My outfit for International Lolita Day Skirt: BTSSB (I curled my hair)

On Sunday, I had tea with Dieu-Ly – said like the word “Joli” in Fernch, which means “pretty”. She is so sweet! She baked gingerbread men! They were so yummy and cute! Also, we had full leaf Christmas tea. I love spicy teas the best! We talked about everything under the sun- in English.  I was going to practice my French, but I was so caught up in seeing her. I can not express how sweet she is to me!  I had such a nice time. Her family can and went in her home. This made me feel like I was back at home too! She also gave me #2 and #3 of L’Empire Dentelle! However, Dieu-Ly had a cold! I hope she is better by now!

I think I ate him!

 

After a week of classes, the 11th came around- Vasilisa’s Birthday!! After a confusing meet up, she took Pauline and me to a warm café I’ve had my eye since I came to France! Everything was on the Birthday Girl! We all ordered tea. Our tea was very warm and full of spice. And, we each had our sweets! Pauline had a crêpe Nutella, Vasilisa a chocolate brownie, and me a crêpe sucre. I’ve had chocolate on crêpes over and over, but never a nice plain sugar crêpe. The sugar crêpe was divine!

Left to Right: Vasilisa // my crepe // Pauline

All together!

UPDATE: I was picked by a local student doing a project on the contrast of French fashion and Japanese Kawaii Fashion. He has taken pictures of me, and he says he will give them to me. And, we have planed an interview. I hope to post about this event. Till then!

4 comments on “When not in Paris…

  • Leave a Reply

