Playing in Art

Published Thursday, 1 December 2011 by Sydney Sunny

I never knew art museums to be boring. EVER.

My friends and I were talking about art museums one day. I told her that I fell in love with the Louvre at first sight when I was just 11 years old. She seemed astonished. She said she loved art museums only now in her 20’s, but at the age 11 she hated the endless rooms of art.

I never remember hating to go to an art museum, galley, or show. I would get lost in the art. The art was a story, the frame was the binding, and the brush strokes were the words. The best part was when I could react to the art and become part of the story. I am able to enjoy it as part of my life story.

"The Coronation of Napoleon" by David

When I was 11, I fell in love with this picture. It is so close to my heart. I gasp every time I see it or heard about it. When I was 11, my mom took a picture of me bowing before Napoleon like Josephine.  The picture became a quick favorite in our travel pictures.

"Portrait of Mariana Waldstein" by Francisco Goya

That day I was dressed up to meet an artist (another post!). My friend and I both realized that Mariana and I were dress similarly! I, of course, was the casual Lolita version of her Spanish dress.

Outfit:
Skirt: Baby the Stars Shine Bright – Black Lace Skirt in Black (no name)
Cutsew: Baby the Stars Shine Bright- 7 Keys Cutsew in Pink
Bow: Baby the Stars Shine Bright- Hello Kitty Pink Side Bow
Purse: Juice Culture- Pink
Shoes: Clarks Mary Janes- Black

I am becoming a Baby the Stars Shine Bright snob.

Egypt Monkeys

I made my friend pose as the monkeys! She and I had a lot of fun in the Louvre.

I can not help but play a little bit in art museums!

3 comments on “Playing in Art

  • Leave a Reply

