Nashville’s Anime Day and a Tutorial for a Cute Tank Top

Published Tuesday, 16 August 2011 by Sydney Sunny

Last Friday, I spent the night at my friends house. We woke up bright and early to go to Nashville. It was Anime Day! Anime Day is like an Anime Convention without famous people, dancing, and panels. It is cut down to only a video room, giveaways, and a dealer’s room. Thus, the price is cut to only $3! Heck, yeah! I will pay $3 to get into a dealer room! I have not been able to go to a meet up all summer. Actually, I have never been to a meet up. Yet, I met some local Lolitas at MTAC.
So, I dressed up really nice and cute! I put my hair into braided loops and placed bows on my head. I was really excited. However, I didn’t see a Lolita at the small convention. But,  I was pleased to look at the dealer room. The dealer room was full of great things. I was really excited to find older and used Mangas on sale at 50%! My prices were 1-3 Sailor Moon Stars, Sailor Venus Guide Book, and Sailor Mars Guide Book for only $20! Later, after I had gathered my lovely things I sat down and watch some Anime with my friends. I was stooped 3 times by people wondering what anime show I was from. I want to say “Sparkly Magic Girl” but I just informed them of Lolita, a Japanese Street Fashion.
All in all,  Anime Day was a breath of fresh air for me. I know, many people stress out about big conventions and “drama” happens, but Anime Day was a casual way to catch up with friends buy something and wear your Cosplay one more time. Personally, it was great to get away for awhile from the stress in my house.

Outfit:
Bow: Handmade by ME
Top: Hand Customized tank top
Butterfly Lace Pin: from Belgium
Sweater: Hand Knitted by ME
Brooch with beads: Hand made by ME
Necklace: Tasty Peach Studios (♥)
Cuffs: Handmade by ME
Skirt: Angelic Pretty
Socks: Angelic Pretty
Shoes: off-brand tan oxfords from a shop in Victoria Station in London

 

 

Tutorial: How to Make a Tank Top Cute

Since, it is so warm outside, I decided to wear a tank top with my Angelic Pretty skirt. But, I couldn’t wear just a plain, boring tee! So, I took out my plain pink tank top and made it cute.

What you need:

  • Tank top
  • Lace
  • Thread and Needle

Simply, start pinning the lace on the back of the neckline of the tank top. Then sew the lace on.
Tips: Because the neckline the lace might want to flip up. To prevent this, I just basted a few areas down in the troubled spots.

Leave a Reply

